Lynn

Lynn Seymour dies 

Gone are the days when adorations were sincere and there were no secret agendas nor anything to be gained from loving and adoring something or someone who put you on this earth.   

I love words and I love languages.  

I remember growing up and trying to teach myself more about this profession that I chose to lead me for most of my life.  The internet had not made its international debut and the public library was our cultural salvation.  I would walk from Flatbush ave in Brooklyn to either the Brooklyn library or if my necessity was too great I would  take myself to the Lincoln center library and salivate on videos, articles, what have you about my chosen field of profession.  

I was beautifully taken aback by the paraphernalia I found on Lynn Seymour.  

“The lines of ticket buyers went around the whole theater of people hoping to get a seat to see Lynn Seymour dance.”

Wow.  

How amazing it is to have that kind of rock star status in the dance world. Status like that feels as old as the Beatles.  You cannot imagine my surprise when in the 90’s one Monday in Madrid a thin almost wobbly teacher walks into the studio and gets a lovely  smile from everyone n the room.  Admittedly the smile was due to her huge round sunglasses but let’s just say it was misinterpreted  and no-one was hurt after the incident.  

My dance changed from then on.  I became a better person as a dancer.  I remember distinctly that change and still call back on it when I teach.  We went immediately to Palma de Mallorca on tour.  Catherine Allard and I were like groupies around Lynn.  She was more than a breath of fresh air.  She was a reminder of why we were dancing.  We went everywhere with her.  She was as smart as smart could be.  She knew about every piece of the cathedral in Palma de Mallorca and wowed us with her breath of knowledge.  As we teetered between sightseeing and the New York Times crossword, she occasionally picked up rocks that she found interesting.  I finally asked her why she did that and she said:  “I am making my own shrine at home for Rudy{Nureyev} and use the stones which I find interesting.”  It was true her bag was somewhat heavy.  

Where am I?  Oh ye, I am on this side of the ocean.  Penny told me yesterday:  “Lynn Seymour died.  She died on March 7.”  My world slowed down considerably.  

Oh we are but memories.  Lovely memories that we cherish and hold on to with all our angels in fear of never having them again.  If only the universe could make us that little promise.  Our memories will not only be ours but we will not lose them. I would be so ecstatic.  

Now, I am opting for holding onto mine with all my might and thanking everyone I have ever had an interaction with for their contributions.

Leave a comment